Short Dawdler’s Review: Memoirs of a Geisha

Photo from Wikipedia

Title: Memoirs of a Geisha

Author: Arthur Golden

Genre: Historical Fiction

Copyright: 1997

Summary

(from the back of the book)

A literary sensation and runaway bestseller, this brilliant debut novel presents with seamless authenticity and exquisite lyricism the true confessions of one of Japan’s most celebrated geisha.

In Memoirs of a Geisha, we enter a world where appearances are paramount; where a girl’s virginity is auctioned to the highest bidder; where women are trained to beguile the most powerful men; and where love is scorned as illusion. It is a unique and triumphant work of fiction – at once romantic, erotic, suspenseful – and completely unforgettable.

_

First things first, Memoirs of a Geisha is the story of Sayuri. On how she became, of course, a geisha. From being a little girl in a little island near the sea in Japan, to becoming on the most well-known geisha in Gion.

When I saw this book at the store, I immediately told my mom to buy it haha. I was very intrigued with this because when we watched the movie on class back in high school, our teacher kept on covering the television because some parts contain sex scenes. Now, not that I really fancy those kind of movies/story, its just that I didn’t understand a thing! If you happen to stumble upon this Sir, I’m sorry haha but.. I hope not haha. Anyway, that’s what I wanted to read it. On a side note, I watched the movie after reading the book and it wasn’t even full of sex scenes! We were movie deprived! Haha

On to the review…

I dawdled with this because

The story is very rich in history and it’s not that filtered. Sayuri narrates the story so you might say that it’s somewhat biased but I think the first person narration helped hone the story into a beautiful one. The way she describes her realizations in life and the way she describes the details are what I found quite catchy. There are some written stuff (not just books per se) that are fully loaded with adjectives to the point that it can be a dictionary (that’s quite harsh for me to say though). I think this book is okay when it comes to that, it’s fully loaded yet the story needed it because it’s about the past and the person reading it needed more information. Regarding the story, there were some controversies about the book when it was published and I don’t know if who’s saying the truth. The story was detailed, and that really helped me, heck it even fooled me. I forgot that it was historical FICTION that I researched about Mameha (Mameha is Sayuri’s big sister in the nove – spoiler alert). So, I can say that it is quite convincing based on what happened to me. I don’t know if that happened to someone, but even though we (pertaining to the Stout Dawdler) know that a book is fictional, we research on some parts of it because, hey, you can’t make something that’s not based on some actual truth right?

I almost didn’t dawdle with this because

It was a long read. I mean, I like reading but the story progressed quite slowly that I stopped reading it for a while and came back to it after a few weeks.

The Dawdler’s Verdict (wow, big word)

All in all, I like the story because I like learning about history and that it’s quite convincing. Even though the author had a controversy, I still like that it’s not that filtered because we wouldn’t know if some parts of what’s written are true or not, I appreciate that he still included the negative stuff about a geisha’s life. I don’t know if kids aged 15 – 17 will appreciate this already so I think it would be a good read for the ones 18 and above. But if a kid aged 17 and below likes this, then wow haha.

The Alternative Artwork

So this is what we planned when the Stout Dawdler and I talked about doing this blog. To have something different and to not waste and show what we like doing. 🙂 I already like the cover of Memoirs of a Geisha and it has other versions but the one above is the one I have. Anyway, I did an alternative cover just to make myself happy haha please bear with it though anw, here it is:

ABarnuevo_MemoirsofaGeisha090713

ps. The star on the lower right is my logo 🙂 Please don’t remove it in case you’d want to share it elsewhere (just in case you know, not assuming haha)

Rating

s&sdawdlerscoffeecupsrating_4

Love,

Anne, the Short Dawdler

Leave a Reply

