Stout Dawdler’s Review: Love, Stargirl

Photo from Wikipedia

Title: Love, Stargirl

Author: Jerry Spinelli

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Children’s Literature

Copyright: August 14, 2007

Summary

Stargirl has moved and left everything behind: Arizona, Mica High, enchanted desert places–and Leo, her once (and future?) boyfriend. He’s all she can think about, and her life begins to feel like a parade of unhappy anniversaries. Then Stargirl meets her wonderfully bizarre new neighbors: Dootsie, the curly-headed five-year-old “human bean”; Charlie, who sits among the tombstones; hot-tempered Alvina with that one glittery nail; and Perry Delloplane, the blue-eyed thief who soon lays his own claim to Stargirl’s heart. In letters to Leo over the course of a year, Stargirl comes to find hope in new places: mockingbirds, donut angels, moon flowers, and the Winter Solstice–that turning-point day when dark tips to light. But what’s life without Leo? Will he–can he–answer that one crucial question she asks every morning to the rising sun? In this companion novel to Stargirl, Newberry Medalist Jerry Spinelli continues his beloved heroine’s story in a tale of hurt and healing, promise and revelation, solstice and sunbeams.

I was sad when I was nearing Stargirl(the first book)’s end. Then, the short dawdler let me borrow its sequel, Love, Stargirl, (too many commas for my life! Haha) just recently.

I dawdled with this because…

Of the journal entries as the letter itself! (I can relate! Hahaha!) A little back story: I kept three journals containing entries about this one boy. I thought of it back then as a sort of keeping and re-reading them for the fun of it, not knowing that I’ll actually give it to the person I was writing about. Talk about nostalgia and being “so high school”. Chos. Anyway, what I also liked about the book is the fact that it you don’t have to think that much while reading; well, except for the word ‘befuddled’ (ha! Figure that one out!). I also like how the characters were well built-up as the story progressed, and I love how they ‘jived’ in to make the story altogether wonderful and cute at the same time.

I almost didn’t dawdle with this because…

It has a cliffhanger-like ending that I’m hoping another book will come after this.

The dawdler’s verdict

The book is just too cute! As a college graduate, I’m always amused with puppy and/or first love stories because it feels like high school again (depression phase and all). I’ll recommend this to those who, like us dawdlers, just want to just waste time (even though there are a lot of things to be done hehe), so basically, everyone.

The Alternative Artwork

PMancita_Stargirl

Rating

s&sdawdlerscoffeecupsrating_4

Raising my water tumbler,

Pau, The Stout Dawdler

Leave a Reply

