Short Dawdler’s Review: Looking for Alaska

Photo from Wikipedia

Photo from Wikipedia

Title: Looking for Alaska

Author: John Green

Genre: Young Adult

Copyright: 2005

Summary:

(from Goodreads)

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. Then he heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

_

Took quite a long time to make another review because of, you know, work. Ugh.  Haha just kidding. Anyway, I know I’m not the first one to make a review about Looking for Alaska, I actually read it because my cousin kept on telling me it was beautiful whenever I saw the book on her room. I did read it eventually because she was always in semi-raptures (this word always reminds me of Caroline Bingley anyway) whenever I mention it to her.  And also because I was curious of the title, like, what’s up with Alaska? Haha

On to the review…

I dawdled with this because

It was really beautiful.  My cousin wasn’t kidding when she was having her raptures haha. I like the emotions especially when Pudge found friends. He was a lost kid and like a friend/parent, I was kind of happy when he found people. (Spoiler alert) He kind of did not find it, whatever he was looking for. He found something else though, but I think what Pudge was looking for came in another form.  Some things that we’re looking for come in other forms that are unexpected and yet you get used to it without knowing and you become okay with things. I liked this book because the words spoke to me. Do you feel it when you’ve read something so good and you want to share it people? I felt that.  I felt what they felt because the words hit something that was beyond my gut.

On a side note, some may say that Paper Towns is quite like Looking for Alaska so you need not to read it fully, but I can say that both books have the same difference. Ha, left you wondering there haha read it and be your own judge.

I almost didn’t dawdle with this because

I don’t like Pudge. Haha it’s just that at times I felt he has too many feelings and it’s annoying. My favorite character though was The Colonel if you might ask.

The Dawdler’s Verdict

All in all, even though Pudge was annoying, I love it. It makes you see some things in a different way and wish you had read this when you were at that point in your life.

The Alternative Artwork

Featuring Alaska’s favorite flowers.

ABarnuevo_LookingForAlaska011614

ps. The star on the lower right is my logo :) Please don’t remove it in case you’d want to share it elsewhere (just in case you know, not assuming haha)

Rating

s&sdawdlerscoffeecupsrating_5

Love,

Anne, the Short Dawdler

Leave a Reply

